More Domaine de Canton

In looking for more interesting ways to use this tasty ginger liqueur, I came across this recipe. Although I didn’t have JETT Vodka or agave syrup, I did have an abundance of basil and strawberries. After some internet research, I also learned that honey can be a great substitute for agave syrup at a 1:1 ratio. So, I decided to try this cocktail, albeit somewhat modified.

First Class

  • 1 1/4 oz JETT vodka
  • 1 oz Domaine de Canton
  • 1/2 oz lime juice
  • 1/2 oz agave nectar (or honey)
  • 4 basil leaves
  • 1 strawberry

In a mixing glass, muddle the strawberry (and basil) with the agave nectar. Add ice and rest of ingredients. Shake very well and strain into an ice filled double old fashioned glass.

This drink had all the flavors I’m really into at the moment: ginger, strawberry, and basil. I loved the mellow basil and strawberry taste with the soft bite of ginger at the end of the sip. That being said, it was a little sweet for me, which may have had something to do with the use of honey rather than the agave syrup. I’ll have to try this again with agave to be sure. I also think a little seltzer water or lemon lime soda might help it not be so syrupy sweet.

Still, my girlfriend loved it. And the customer is always right, right?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to More Domaine de Canton

  1. chelsea says:

    This looks great! I’ll for sure have to try it this weekend. Actually, my favorite drink is the gold rush – I found it on their website and I absolutely fell in love!! Perhaps i’ll come up with a recipe and try out for there bartender competition. I’d love to win $10,000, haha (wouldnt we all!).

Leave a comment