Jasmine Cocktail, Part II

I’ve written previously about how much I enjoy the Jasmine, a complex cocktail with gin, Campari, Cointreau, and lemon. I’m also a big fan of the Boulevardier, a play on the Negroni that swaps out the gin for bourbon. Inspired by these two personal favorites, I traded my Tanqueray for Maker’s Mark for this new take on the Jasmine.

Jasmine on the Boulevard

1 1/2 oz Maker’s Mark

1 oz Cointreau

3/4 oz Campari

1/2 oz lemon juice

Shake with ice, strain into a cocktail glass, garnish with a lemon wedge.

Now I can’t claim for sure that this is an entirely original creation (its obviously not a huge creative leap to go from gin to whiskey), but a cursory internet search didn’t turn up any results for a Jasmine made with whiskey. In fact, I’d love to hear what this is actually called if anyone knows.

The addition of the Maker’s really does change the character of this drink. Gone is the substantial resemblance to grapefruit juice. The bitter bite of the Campari is also significantly mellowed. Still, the result is a sweet, mildly tart, and rounded cocktail. The bourbon is forward, the very first flavor in every sip, but then fades into the sweetness of the Campari and Cointreau. The finish is mild lemon, with just a bit of the bitterness of the Campari coming in towards the very end. I think I still prefer the original Jasmine, but when in the mood for a complex and bitter whiskey cocktail, I will certainly come back to this one. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment