Domaine de Canton

One of my favorite things about trying new cocktails is buying new ingredients. I’d read a lot online about how “hot” the ginger flavor is in cocktails right now (I’m so very trendy) so I decided to buy a bottle of Domaine de Canton and experiment.

I found a great recipe for a ginger and watermelon cocktail:

2 oz. Corzo Silver Tequila                                                3/4 oz. Domaine de Canton Ginger  Liqueur                   5 one inch chunks of watermelon                                       5-7 mint leaves

Process: In a mixing glass, muddle the watermelon and mint.  Then add remaining ingredients and shake well with ice.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Garnish: watermelon rind twist and watermelon slice

I don’t love tequila, but this was pretty tasty. The ginger is very subtle, kind of a smooth aftertaste at the end of each sip. Reminded me of eating fresh ginger with sushi. I think when I make it next time I might try to find a sweeter or riper watermelon, or perhaps add a little sugar.

Looking forward to using the Domaine de Canton more often!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Domaine de Canton

  1. chelsea says:

    Canton is a great mixer! Have you tried in any other recipes? This one sounds great, i’ll have to try it. With my Canton collection at home, I should be creating my own cocktailS:)

  2. Bartender says:

    Thanks Chelsea! Check out my new post for another attempt at using the Canton. I’d love to hear any of your favorite recipes, and anything you come up with yourself!

Leave a Reply

